Fight Song

A busy day ahead, so I’ll keep this one fairly short.

Belief in yourself will take you places. It will take time, but if you put in the hard work and persistence you will only get closer and closer to your goal.

I have 2 interviews scheduled today – and luckily both are for interesting work with good organizations. To give myself a little boost of energy/confidence I listened to the song “Fight Song” by Rachel Platten.

It was the same song I listened to over a year ago when I encountered an unfair situation and stood up for myself. At the time my self-worth had taken a major hit so listening to the words in this song helped give me the confidence to not take the crap and, respectfully, make myself heard.

Today as I listened to the song I couldn’t help but think of how one year ago I felt so much uncertainty about where I would be at this point. While it’s been difficult and hard-work to (1) do the self-reflection to better understand myself and the right choices for me (2) put in the time to actually make it happen – it has also been a pivotal growth experience for both my career and the direction of my life.

Keep fighting whatever fight your fighting. There will be lots of times along the way where it seems too tough, pointless, too scary…but it will be worth it.


I’m happy to be seeing results from my hard work. I’m thankful for the support I’ve received and for the strength I’ve drawn on from inspirational stories and songs. I’m hopeful that everyone stays the course with the struggles they’re currently encountering and keeps fighting for the things that are important to them.

2 thoughts on “Fight Song

  1. I love that song! I hope you get the job! I love your positive outlook, I truly believe the whole universe has your back when you’re grateful 🙂 Keep it up my blogsista! (Can I call you that? lol) I’m sending love your way from California ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Marge! We are totally blogsistas. Totally! 🙂 Still working through the details of the job stuff, and keeping my fingers crossed it works out. Thanks for the love (and feel free to send some of your Californian weather too! ;)) ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

