Daily Snapshots – Day #15

“There is no wifi in the forest, but I promise you’ll find a better connection.”   

I am grateful for … sunrises (pretty much everyday I drive to work and look in awe at the beauty of the pinky, orangey, blue colors), cars with winter tires, and fantastic caretakers at the Y who have become like family.

I am hopeful that… I continue to break routines that are in place just because they’re a routine and challenge myself to … support a new-to-us local restaurant the next time the family eats out. I also challenge myself to schedule in play time with the girls – feels wrong to schedule something like that in, but helpful to ensure it happens…and that’s what you do when things are important to you.

I enjoyed … spending 1/2hr playing with the girls after getting home yesterday. We did “airplane”, sang “If you’re happy and you know it” (C’s favorite song, and was J’s as a baby too) and had a few cuddles. I also enjoyed catching up with a few of the Y caretakers – I popped into the Y/library near closing time to pick up a book I had on hold, and on my way out chatted with a caretaker I hadn’t seen in a while. She shared that one of her colleagues was gushing about C (she has a lovely bond with this young man) and that she’s friends with a caretaker who left the Y about 6 months ago, and that person still asks about C. My heart melted.

Yesterday’s Challenge: I am hopeful that… I take time to take breaths when I need to and challenge myself to … make time to breathe deeply for 2 minutes when my anxiety/stress levels are up (because I know they will be later on!).

Update on Yesterday’s Challenge: I did take some time that day to take a few breaths. I’ve also incorporated it into my daily drive (which I think I’ve mentioned in passing before), where I drive without the radio on for the first 10 min of my drive, and turn it on the rest of the drive. It’s not so much to torture myself with silence, but it’s an enjoyable & almost meditative way to just let me think my thoughts, feel my feelings, and address them with a bit of clarity before I clutter it with radio, busy-ness, and the stresses of the day.

Leave a Reply

