Daily Snapshots – Day #16

“Making one person smile can change the world. Maybe not the whole world, but their world.”

I am grateful for … living and growing up in a safe country. But I also think of the current situation in Syria and I’m not sure how to reconcile my luck of the draw living in Canada with no significant concerns (let’s face it, sighing over the daily grind of a new job and young family is a luxury compared to the life-or-death stresses and anxiety others face) when others are living in war-torn countries.

I am hopeful that… I never believe that I’m too small or insignificant to make a difference and challenge myself to … regularly reflect on how I can help or show love towards those who struggle with a variety of challenges life has dealt them (whether they live in my neighborhood or miles & oceans away), and action those intentions.

I enjoyed … listening to “Hallelujah” by the Pentatonix using my earphones vs. over the laptop speakers. It was like being color blind then suddenly seeing all the colors and thinking “Whoa! I thought this was beautiful, but it’s even more gorgeous than I realized!!”

Yesterday’s Challenge: I am hopeful that… I continue to break routines that are in place just because they’re a routine and challenge myself to … support a new-to-us local restaurant the next time the family eats out. I also challenge myself to schedule in play time with the girls – feels wrong to schedule something like that in, but helpful to ensure it happens…and that’s what you do when things are important to you.

Update on Yesterday’s Challenge: With a late night mixed with both girls waking multiple times in the middle of the night, I purposely slept in this morning and decided to not make a lunch. My go to is usually “Queen Street Commons” which is a delicious, reasonably priced cafe that provides individuals valuable work/volunteer experience and supports a local not-for-profit. After reading this, I’m going to try a small Indian restaurant I’ve been eyeing up near work.

Leave a Reply

