Daily Snapshots – Day #19

“You don’t always need a plan. Sometimes you just need to breathe, trust, let go, and see what happens.”

I am grateful for … God-given direction to slowdown. While battling an ear infection, throat infection and pinkeye…throw in a case of confirmed pinworms in J, and we hunkered down and stayed home this weekend, instead of the 4 hours of travel in a day + baby shower that were originally planned this weekend. Don’t get me wrong, it was terribly hectic, tiring, and uncomfortable, but I like to think of this being part of God’s plan to extend his hand and say I’m going to slow this right down for you. I’m not going to give you a choice but to slow down, rest, and get a bit more caught up on life.

I need that.

I often struggle with wanting to do more and believing that I can make anything happen if I just go for it and make it happen…but it often comes at the cost of rest. This is a second reminder to myself that too much of a good thing is too much.

I am hopeful that… I consciously block time in my family’s schedule for unwinding. For not going out of town. For not having company over. For not getting caught up on laundry.

For breathing. For being flexible to embark on mini family adventures. For having time open to doing crafts as a family. For having time to catch a Sat. morning movie, if we so fancy.

For simply having the ability to live in the moment.

I enjoyed … watching C dance for the first time (i.e. slightly bending her knees and lightly bouncing up and down). I love how the radio brings out all our family members’ dancey-ness.

Previous Challenge: I am hopeful that… our family continues to be open to new opportunities to grow personally, relish in new experiences, and grow as a family. Whether it’s trying a new sport, new food, or traveling to a new country.

Update on Previous Challenge: I think my new challenge fits nicely with this previous challenge (an unintentional coincidence!). I think that by creating more space in our schedules we’ll have the ability to do these things. I suppose the question is should I book these opportunities to ensure these experiences happen (which is my tendency), or should I instead block time in our schedules and keep a running list of potential things we can do…I think the more flexibility the better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

