Daily Snapshots – Day #20

“Only as high as I reach can I grow, only as far as I seek can I go, only as deep as I look can I see, only as much as I dream can I be.” – Karen Ravn

Love this.

I am grateful for … medication, safe travels, and making it through an out-of-town conference on 2 hrs of sleep and a tired body. Thanks for hanging in there, Body! 😉

I am hopeful that… I stay positive and focused when things get tough. To recognize my feelings when I get overwhelmed. And challenge myself to … allow myself to really feel and experience the moment I’m overwhelmed…soak it in…every last tense muscle, strained breath, quickened heart beat, racing thought…..be aware of it all and acknowledge on it.

Then breathe it out. And focus on how I can best attack the overwhelming challenges.

I enjoyed … talking to my husband about the workings of hydro companies, asking questions about the effects of the current inflated prices on the industry, and learning a heck of a lot more than I ever thought I would about a topic I, quite honestly, haven’t cared too much to learn about.

Previous Challenge: I am hopeful that… I consciously block time in my family’s schedule for unwinding. For not going out of town. For not having company over. For not getting caught up on laundry.

For breathing. For being flexible to embark on mini family adventures. For having time open to doing crafts as a family. For having time to catch a Sat. morning movie, if we so fancy.

For simply having the ability to live in the moment.

Update on Previous Challenge: We have out-of-town plans with family this weekend. Given the current sickness and exhaustion, I called to say that we’d have to see how we were feeling and that there was a chance we might not come…and that if we did come, it would be for the day and not overnight.

I was creating flexibility! Unintentionally! But perhaps subconsciously because I had planted the thought in my head through yesterday’s challenge…way to go Subconscious Brain!

It felt so nice to not have the pressure in the back of my mind of “just get through this week to Friday…then make sure you get up early enough on Saturday to get to Toronto, have multiple visits then drive home that night…then take the girls Sunday morning to give H a chance to catch up on sleep. Then try to nap when they’re napping……………..pending there isn’t a backload of laundry that’s begging to be done, or something else which……”

Because really – that’s how my mind works. It was nice to say “Yup, we committed to something, but given the current circumstances, we need to reassess closer to the date to do what works best for our family.”

*big sigh of relief*

Leave a Reply

